Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of

Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating and frightening behind the scenes look at the interconnected cultures of hackers, security specialists, and law enforcementAyear old Romanian student stumbles into a criminal ransomware ring in her village Soon she is extorting Silicon Valley billionaires for millions without knowing the first thing about computersA veteran cybersecurity specialist has built a deep network of top notch hackers in one of the world s largest banks But then the bank brings in a cadre of ex military personnel to help A cynical Russian only leaves his tiny New Jersey apartment to hack sports cars at a high performance shop in Newark But he opens his door to a consultant who needs his helpA hotel doorman in China once served in the People s Army, stealing intellectual property from American companies Now he uses his skills to build up a private side business selling the data he takes from travelers to Shanghai s commercial center Kingdom of Lies follows the intertwined stories of cybercriminals and ethical hackers as they jump from criminal trend to criminal trend, crisis to crisis A cybersecurity professional turned journalist, Kate Fazzini illuminates the many lies companies and governments tell us about our security, the lies criminals tell to get ahead, and the lies security leaders tell to make us think they are better at their jobs than they areLike Traffic set in the cybercrime world,Kingdom of Lies is as entertaining as it is eye opening


10 thoughts on “Kingdom of Lies: Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime

  1. Liz Liz says:

    2.5 stars, rounded upI m not a big fan of nonfiction, but the world of hackers is so much in the news nowadays, I was intrigued The city of Balti s computer system is being held for ransom as I write this I can t say I cared for Fazzini s writing style There s a lot of jumping around, which makes it hard to keep up, especially at the beginning when a lot of individ


  2. David Wineberg David Wineberg says:

    Kingdom of Lies is an unfinished proposal of a book Kate Fazzini has fashioned her digging into the world of hacking into a story that is at once fascinating and rich, and also disjointed and pointless.Fazzini has molded numerous stereotypes into real characters, leading real lives and suffering real frustrations and setbacks They may even be real people readers don


  3. Casey Wheeler Casey Wheeler says:

    This book is an interesting read from the perspective that I learned a few things, but it isof an overview of the subject and does not get down into thedetailed aspects of cybercrime that I was expecting from the description That said, I found this book a quick and enjoyable read Some of the things I learned were that hackers not consider or refer to themselves as ha


  4. Brandon Forsyth Brandon Forsyth says:

    I think my expectations were raised a little by the blurb likening Fazzini to the Michael Lewis of cybercrime , and the story never really flows or seems as well drawn as Mr Lewis is capable of But that s obviously a really unfair bar to compare against For such a difficult subject matter to report on, the glimpses we do get are illuminating and the essential argument


  5. Chunyang Ding Chunyang Ding says:

    Absolutely atrocious writing, with the only redeeming quality being the interesting subject matter Fazzini tries to take us into the minds of the many characters, but noone is sufficiently fleshed out enough to be a mere caricature of a person The writing style, which progresses chronologically but geographically schiznophrenic, is incredibly hard to trace any kind of


  6. Jeremy Brooks Jeremy Brooks says:

    Somewhat interesting, but very scattered It felt disjointed there was no clear connection between all of the various players, and it felt like characters and stories just ended without any real resolution Readlike a collection of notes about various people than a book.


  7. Lynn Kelly Lynn Kelly says:

    The author of this book is my husband s niece, Kate Fazzini Kingdom of Lies opened up the world of hackers, both good and bad, for me It shows how multi leveled they are and working independently Don t forget to read The Author s Note in the end.


  8. Sam Reaves Sam Reaves says:

    We hear a lot about cybercrime, but very little about the shadowy figures behind it Who are these people who are lurking in cyberspace, flooding it with malware, crippling websites, holding our data for ransom, taking down giant corporations Apart from a certain amount of noise about Russian hackers, there s not a lot of information out there.Kate Fazzini worked in cybers


  9. Brian Brian says:

    Kate Fazzini takes the reader into the shadowy world of white hat and black hat hackers as she looks at the people who work at bank and those who try to hack the banks and precipitates other cyber frauds The names, locations and companies are changed to protect those who give information which always leads to a little inflation of the story as the author acknowledges The p


  10. Elizabeth Mabrey Elizabeth Mabrey says:

    An interesting idea, but this reads like a first draft, not a finished product I didn t care for the writing style, which meanders and doesn t connect anything or reach any resolutions She also has a bad habit of introducing people with a weird attempt at suspense he works at the bank but he doesn t know in a year he won t be there any It gets repetitive and irritating In t


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *